alihasem.blogg.se

Refworks plugin for word 2010
Refworks plugin for word 2010




I like the way Zotero uses an in-browser method to add references vs Refworks export function (which seems different in each database). So I was just doing the same comparison, and I’m loving Zotero (well, my first hour with it… perhaps it’s a bit early to declare love). Hopefully we can help each other out as we go along. I’m pretty sure that I’m at the back of the line when it comes to technology experience, so I’ll be interested to see what others have to say about this as well. I was talking to someone who recently graduated from the MALAT program, and she said that she used Delicious a lot for bookmarking things. That said, I think I would prefer the option to have my information saved online so that I can access it from more than one computer. I have been meaning to look at Zotero because I remembered that one of the points made by the 2nd year chohort was that Zotero is better than RefWorks. There is an online tuturial that walks you through everything (which might be a little more friendly than the text version.) I’ve created some different files on RefWorks, and have appreciated the way it puts together a reference list – but I know that I’m not using the program to its capacity. I’ve been using RefWorks because a)I set it up when I was doing the pre-res tutorial and b)when looking up articles on the RRU library site, it is easy to transfer over the citation information (by clicking on “export”). Now all I have to do is actually START reading… I would love to hear from anyone else who is at this stage to see if you prefer Refworks, or have found another program that works for you. And maybe when it is, Zotero will have branched out into the cloud world… Because I have a laptop that I use everywhere, hopefully it won’t be a problem. So if I was at school and wanted to check something, I couldn’t do it. The problem with Zotero is that the information is saved to my computer, and that’s it. I could create my own group, and start collecting research, but the only way others could contribute would be to join the group (and I haven’t figured that part out yet). I surfed the groups already in existence, and actually found a few article that might be helpful. I can also create a group and share my findings with others. If I find an article to keep, I just click on the icon and then follow the super-easy instructions. I downloaded the software, and now when I surf anything, there’s a little icon on the bottom right of my screen. So I finally took at look at Zotero, and was instantly impressed. I was really hesitant to look at this one, as it only operates in Firefox, and my iPad only has Safari.I really like surfing on that darn thing, but the fact that it is locked down tighter than Alcatraz is seriously annoying at times. Perhaps a Tuesday morning isn’t my best thinking time. I couldn’t figure out what to do when I found an article I wanted to keep, and even after reading the user guide, I was still puzzled. What I wound up with was a confusing 9 pages, and a VERY user unfriendly program. I created an account, and printed off the start-up guide. Trust me, I need all the help I can get with APA…īecause Refworks was recommended, I started with it. But a spot to keep the actual text of the article, with a mechanism to help me with citations, seemed like a perfect idea. Up until this point, I’ve been bookmarking any sites. So I decided that it was time to investigate HOW I was going to keep track of any research I came across. I had a spare hour or so this morning before heading off to Heritage Park in Calgary to ride the steam train with little Silas.






Refworks plugin for word 2010